Gabriella’s Song

I’ve watched this awesome film last night again and was just so astounded by it once more. It seems like everytime I watch it, I find something new in there that just strike out and reach way down, deep into my soul. So, please, share your feelings and emotions and the stuff you’ve learned from the movie, I will love to hear what you think!

I posted the English translation of Gabriella’s Song, as it is shown by the subtitles:

Gabriella’s Song – As It Is In Heaven
Py Bäckman
Helen Sjöholm

It is now that my life is mine
I’ve got this short time on earth
And my longing has brought me here
All I lacked and all I gained

And yet it’s the way that I chose
My trust was far beyond words
That has shown me a little bit
Of the heaven I’ve never found

I want to feel I’m alive
All my living days
I will live as I desire
I want to feel I’m alive
Knowing I was good enough

I have never lost who I was
I have only left it sleeping
Maybe I never had a choice
Just the will to stay alive

All I want is to be happy
Being who I am
To be strong and to be free
To see day arise from night

I am here and my life is only mine
And the heaven I thought was there
I’ll discover it there somewhere
I want to feel that I’ve lived my life!

If this does not inspire you, I don’t know what will…

  1. tracey
    January 13, 2008 at 8:10 am

    hey tiaan .. i just watched that movie … it’s been hard to get my hands on, it’s been that popular out here in the wilderness …

    i was truly touched, and spent some time looking for the translation of that song … thanks.

    there are those that talk of spirituality, when living is all that is truly ‘spiritual’ .. if we are present to the gifts of resistance and suffering, the open our hearts, and we can sing …

    i have heard one comment from the local community that that movie made the feeling of deep uncomfortableness … yep.

    the battle between the mind and the heart, so strange as the mind is merely seeking to protect the heart from breaking, but somehow truly magnificent creative expession rises only in the ever breaking heart …

    One song, bru. I love the movie /// thanks again for taking the time to capture the lyrics.

    love and regards
    ~ t

  2. Erna
    January 22, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Dankie Tiaan, ek het my dood gesoek na die Engelse woorde; wil die lied verwerk vir ‘n koor.

    Thanx

  3. jenny moore
    February 9, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Jenny says,
    the words and the struggle involved in the writing/composing and singing such a wonderfully powerful song epitimise all that this movie represents. The spiritual, the now, the struggle to be both present to and not consumed by all that life is. The wonderful link between truth, freedom, and the struggle is given a voice in this song, which brings a tingle to me as I listen to it every time.

  4. Amelia
    February 14, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Hi, baie dankie vir die Engelse woorde! Waardeer jou moeite! Amelia

  5. Steve
    March 3, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Thank you so much. When I first watched the movie here in Cape Town, South Africa the audience was silent for about 3 minutes during the credits and then people started to clap. I have only experienced that in one other movie, which was Shindler’s List. It has played in the Art House cinemas for over 6 months, and every showing is sold out.

    I bought the soundtrack CD today, and found your blog searching for the lyrics.

  6. Nicholas
    April 10, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I watched this movie a few weeks ago and was overwhelmed with an emotion of incredible wonder that I’ve only felt a handful of times in my life.
    Foe me this song is a testimony to the survival of the human spirit.
    That when we listen for the ‘note’ that has been placed in our hearts we will find true peace and purpose to live.
    Those we least expect have the greatest gift to offer – if we would only let them.
    Tiaan, thanks for putting these words for us to read!

  7. marina
    June 25, 2008 at 12:43 am

    3 years ago i decided to leave my home and family to move away from my hometownánd country, si i wnet to spain dregging my 3 teeenage sons along with me. (I am from Holland) We found a new life and we learned to live in this sociale and culturaly different country. Anyway, this evening i watched this movie (I orderdered true the internet at Bol.com. I was completely swept away, not only do i love Sweden and the people so there was a lot of recognition, but also i loved every single person that in my opinion all have their resemblance with “real” personality’s The love for music the companionship, the strugles and heartships i needed lots of kleenex, and then the song, Gabriellas song it touched me deeply and ik makes me wish to meet the composer and writer, he must truly be a person with a heart and someone who must have felt pain to be able to write lyrics that are coming from the soul.
    im sorry about my poor englis, it felt good to write this down, it made me feel good, to realise that tomorow i wil have this tune in my head and to know theres always something to live for… All I want is to be happy
    Being who I am
    To be strong and to be free
    To see day arise from night
    thank you so much for the translation
    marina mallorca spain

    • manita
      June 10, 2009 at 1:29 am

      just wanted to say hello. from a dutchie in canada who just loves this movie.

      • June 10, 2009 at 1:14 pm

        I love it too! Hello back to you in Canada!

  8. FABIOLA
    August 7, 2009 at 1:45 am

    MUCHAS GRACIAS POR LA LETRA EN INGLÉS!

  9. Romano
    September 9, 2009 at 7:47 am

    This film will live for a long time. It may even get more recognition at a later time in the future because few films go so deep and our society takes so long to evolve. I have not yet seen a film that has moved me so much. I have never been so enchanted by a woman’s beauty as much as I was watching Helen Sjöholm sing and play Gabriella. It would be a dream to meet her. Thanks for the English translation Tiaan!

  10. September 9, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Romano, I suggest you watch Chocolat with Juliet Binoche and Johnny Depp too. You might like that as well.

  11. Ganhiwa
    December 22, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Hey there, just watched this movie finally last week, and it touched me deeply. I was just now listening to the song, and happen to read the translation that u posted.

    As I’m working towards a degree in translations (from nor/swe/dan to eng) I tried my hand in translating the text so that the original context and meanings in it would come out a little easier. I felt some of it was lost in translation.

    This is a more direct translation and as so it will possibly not sound as lyrical as the other one, but the wording is closer to the original meaning.

    It is now that my life is mine
    I’ve gotten this time on earth
    And my longing has led me here
    What I lacked and what I gained

    It is this road that I chose
    My trust far beyond words
    It has shown me a little bit
    Of the heaven I never found

    I want to feel that I’m alive
    all the time that I have
    I will live like I want to
    I want to feel that I’m alive
    and know that I was enough

    I have never forgotten who I was
    I have just let it sleep
    Maybe I had no choice
    Just the will to live

    I want to live happily
    for me being me
    To be strong and free
    Watch the night as it turns to day

    I am here and my life is only mine
    and the heaven i thought was there
    will I find it somewhere?
    I want to feel that I have lived my life!

  12. Adolph Jonker
    January 1, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Hi Tiaan,

    Baie dankie vir die Engelse woorde!

    het jy enige idee waar ek die ghitaar-akoorde daarvoor kan kry?
    Groetnis,

    Adolph

  13. May 26, 2010 at 12:43 am

    Thank you so much for posting the English translation of these lyrics. I have just seen this inspiring film (for the first time), and it was difficult to read my scribbled version.

  14. Alexa Knight
    September 15, 2010 at 5:17 am

    Both songs from the movie live constanntly in the front of my mind. I am a singer, and it is really important to me that the translation lies as close to the musical expression of the feelings as is possible.I am grateful for the extra translation sent in by ‘Ganihwa’.This song was written for me to sing. It was written fo so so many women to sing. It was written for men to sing too. Dare to stand in front of your T.V. and sing with her, until the only voice you hear is YOURS!!! Then you will feel clean, open, strong and joyous. Love, Harmony and Light to All who seek these songs, as you step along your spiritual path…. the only Path which leads you anywhere worthwhile in your life journey. Alexa , Singer/Songwriter/Teacher; who can feel her wings, and flies when she sings the songs people have come to hear. My love embrace you as you step forward.

  15. Darlene
    February 19, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Hello!!
    I watched this movie last night for the first time and HAD to find the song. I would love to have a copy of the music. I am a music teacher, singer. I will learn this song and sing it with passion. It’s the most beautiful song.
    😉
    Darlene

  16. Rebecka
    May 9, 2011 at 11:07 am

    This is the English lyrics of Godewind with Gabriella’s song!!
    (I’m not sure if the lyrics is correct, I wrote what I thought I heard on, while I was listening to the song on spotify.)

    And the life and I want to live.
    I was blessed with life and ungrateful.
    All my longings have brought me here.
    When I missed, when my life was poor.

    At the windy roads that Ive walked.
    Gave me strength and trust to be faithful.
    Cause I knew there where something more.
    Be on words to be waiting for.

    All my life and what your feeling.
    Every single day.
    I will find a way to live.
    All my life and I’m convicted that I still have a lot to give.

    What was we, when sleeping inside.
    But I never ever forgot it.
    Just had to survive to see.
    What was left of our dignity.

    I cant still be happy.
    Knowing who I am.
    Being strong and being free.
    See the light and side of me.

    I am here and I know.
    I haven’t changed.
    There is heaven for me somewhere.
    And that heaven I want to share.

    As in heaven I am happy here.

  17. me
    August 26, 2011 at 1:35 am

    Rebecka, here’s your version cleaned up a bit.

    I’m alive and I want to live.
    I was blessed with life and I’m grateful.
    All my longings have brought me here.
    What I missed, when my life was poor.
    And the windy roads that I’ve walked.
    Gave me strength and trust to be faithful.
    Cause I knew there was something more.
    Beyond words to be waiting for.
    I’m alive and what a feeling.
    Every single day.
    I will find a way to live.
    I’m alive and I’m convicted that I still have a lot to give.
    What was me was sleeping inside.
    But I never ever forgot it.
    I just had to survive to see
    What was left of my dignity.
    I can still be happy.
    Knowing who I am.
    Being strong and being free.
    See the light inside of me.
    I am here and I know I have a chance.
    There is heaven for me somewhere.
    And that heaven I want to share.
    As in heaven I am happy here.

  18. me
    August 26, 2011 at 1:38 am

    sorry, the last line should read
    “As in heaven I’ll be happy here”

  19. Cobus
    September 27, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Hi all, can anyone help me to find this song in English to download it on a CD. My wife wants to play at at our sons funeral tomorrow

  20. September 29, 2011 at 5:14 am

    I love this film, and this song even though I don’t understand Swedish is very powerful and holds a lot of meaning for me.

  21. Patty
    January 2, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Thank you for words since I just watched tha movie and was swept away with emotion. Powerful and moving.

  22. elmarie
    June 28, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Hello Tiaan. Ek het die fliek jare terug in Brooklyn gekyk toe my lewe iets soos Gabriella s’n aanvanklik was. Vanaand het ek dit vir die tweede keer gekyk in die Kaap en kan ek saam met haar in my siel sing, want nou is my lewe ook myne – uiteindelik! En die hemel is eintlik in my… Baie dankie vir die woorde!

  23. Elaine
    July 2, 2013 at 3:38 am

    Where can I find a score?

  24. September 21, 2016 at 8:56 am

    This movie and the song helped me through a time in my life I thought to be the final days of it… Whether it was gonna end by itself or by me doing it (Yeah, it was that hard of a time) but my internal healing began with As it is in Heaven! I dont know about you all but I kind of feel jealous of this movie, like it was mine to watch, I dont recomend it as often as I should

  25. December 23, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    I just watched this movie the second time. This movie touches my soul so deeply and my tears came as I heard this song. As it is in Heaven shows us what love is, and all the expressions of all that is. There is no death, there is no sins. All there is is love. And we as a human being has to be guided by our inner knowing and live a life from our heart, which will lead us to have a glimpse of heaven where all minds become one. Everything is already here. Thanks for the translations and all your thoughts!

  1. June 22, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Leave a comment