300 men and a Bible passage

The full thing is still under construction…as one of you pointed out, the Super 14 first need to finish! But yeah, I watched 300 today again and I’m going to link it with rugby and religion. About the last 2 subjects it suffice to say for now: think of the parallels: place of worship, certain group you belong to out of choice or not, songs you sing, customs and habits…let your thoughts flow a bit
On 300: “For honour, for glory, for SPARTA!!!!!!!!!” and “Come and get them!”
For honour: who does not want to live an honourable life?
For glory: what do you perceive as glorious?
For Sparta: Substitute the place with any other place or thing of importance in your life…what are you willing to sacrifice?
And lastly: at the end of the movie Leonidas whisper “My wife…my queen…my love…” All of you who have seen it (and I think all men should, even if it is moerse violent) go read 1 Corinthians 13 afterwards…”If I don’t have love…”
I would love to hear some comments so long!
Cheers 4 Eers!
Mr T

  1. April 17, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Nice blog!

  2. Sue
    April 17, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    Hey, I love the new look!! You’ll remember after we saw the movie I wasn’t sure whether I liked it or not, but after replaying it and now reading your blog, I have to admit that it’s a good movie. Despite the very graphic and violent nature.

    The whole group thing is inevitable. It is inherent to our society. You belong to a group, more often a few groups, not always by choice. Belonging to a group gives you identity and a feeling that you belong somewhere and that you are loved. Imagine for a moment not being part of your friendship circle or church group or team of some sort. Who are you then?

    Ok, so I have gone of the point a bit, but you’ve loosened my thoughts. I think I’ll have to go see 300 again.

  3. Anna-Marie
    May 25, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Ek’s mal oor jou analise Tiaan. Ek het juis 80 filmanalises wat by die huis le en wag vir my om te merk. En elke dag mail my studente net meer. Het hulle nie van deadlines gehoor nie?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

